Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

People hold different views whether or not school children should be given homework. Although I agree that there are some drawbacks that should be highlighted, I believe that homework plays an indispensable role in the education of children.

On the one hand, many parents would argue that their children devote a large amount of time to study at school; therefore, it is not necessary to force them to continue studying at home. Additionally, opponents of homework believe that it could exert several deleterious influences on students. For instance, since many teachers chase test scores, they force-feed homework into young brains; as a result, many students are in a state of constant learning. This could suck the fun out of learning, and students might face a high chance of serious health issues such as learning disorder and eye diseases. Finally, if homework is eliminated, children can take part in sport which not only extricates them from a great deal of academic pressure but also improves their health.

However, I support the view of those who believe that homework has an important role to play in the schooling of children. First and foremost, the main benefit of homework is that it encourages independent learning and develops problem-solving skills, as children are challenged to accomplish their tasks by themselves. Another benefit is that homework is an opportunity for students to cultivate their abilities and put the knowledge gained into practice. Given the fact that the transmission of knowledge at school is commonly related to theoretical learning. In other words, students could only enhance practical skills at their homes by means of homework. It is extremely important that it enables students to have a profound understanding of what they have learned at school.

To sum up, homework certainly has its drawbacks, but I believe that the returns are highly justifiable and reasonable.