Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the optimal method of making roads more secure is to raise the legal driving age. While this may work to a certain extent, I would argue that there are superior ways to curb traffic accidents.

It is understandable why some people advocate banning young people from driving. Firstly, young drivers tend to drive in a careless way, which may result in accidents. For instance, many Vietnamese youngsters disregard traffic laws and commit serious offences such as running red lights, contributing to the escalating rates of injuries and fatalities. Secondly, due to a lack of experiences, it is unlikely that young people can handle road incidents quickly and efficiently, especially in dangerous situations such as slippery road surface or adverse weather conditions. Therefore, a ban on young drivers could be a good way to minimize the likelihood of accidents when driving.

Nonetheless, I believe that such a scheme could be unworkable in the long run. As reckless driving occurs both among the old and the young, increasing the legal driving may not be a solution to the problems of accidents. Instead, governments should adopt more viable solutions to reduce accidents. One feasible solution is administering harsher punishments on people who violate traffic laws. For example, authorities could levy higher fines on traffic offenders or confiscate their driver's licence indefinitely. Another measure is to provide funding for improving road infrastructures. This is because accidents not only stem from bad driving but also low standards of roadways.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that there are better solutions, as listed above, to increase road safety more comprehensively.