Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is difficult to conceive of vigorous economic growth without an efficient transport system. Thus, every government works to enable citizens to commute safely and quickly. However, it raises the question about whether the governments should allocate more money to railways or roads. From my perspective, I strongly believe that the governments should spend more money on the railways system.

First and foremost, I would argue that the governments should expand more railroads rather than roads because railroads could offer time efficiency as well as safe commuting. For instance, the number of road accidents and highway casualties in many countries is far higher than that of the railway casualties. Furthermore, while express trains are able to carry hundreds of people and hundred tonnes of goods, it seems that road transports carry less with slower speed. Therefore, it seems to me that the investment in a more safe and efficient way of commuting is a much more prudent idea.

Secondly, pouring money into railways might not only mitigate traffic problems but also protect the environment. Rail lines are usually located in separate zones which are away from the main road. As a result, if the government invests in this transportation, it could solve traffic congestion by easing traffic flow in the main road. Since trains are environmentally-friendly means of transport as they cause no damage to the environment, the acceleration in the use of trains could be an effective way to combat climate change. On the contrary, the huge amount of exhaust fumes which stems from road vehicles is one of the primary reasons for the global warming.

To sum up, either in a developed or a developing country, the government should invest to build a safer, faster and more reliable transportation system and the railway, for this reason, should be high on the agenda.