More people are taking public transport nowadays. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this mode of transport.

Many people believe that public transport is the best effective means of transport; therefore, they exert pressure on the government to incentivize more residents to use buses or trains. In this essay, I will outline several advantages as well as disadvantages of this mode of transport.

On the one hand, it is true that there are some drawbacks. Firstly, given the fact that buses and trains can not bring passengers to exact places where they want to go, they sometimes have to walk to their destinations. This could not only cause great inconvenience for those commuting by public transport but also force them to change their timetable regularly. Secondly, because buses are often packed, especially during the rush hour, traffic offenders would have more opportunities to violate the laws, which in turn poses a serious threat to the safety of every passenger. Take India as an example, since sexual harassment in buses is quite prevalent, women in this country want to avoid using this type of public transport.

On the other hand, I support the view of those who believe that the benefits of public transport outweigh the drawbacks. One benefit is a higher capacity that buses or trains have compared to other private vehicles. Thus, If the government allocates more money to public transport, it could be a possible way to ease traffic flow and curb traffic congestion. At the same time, the carbon emissions will be cut down, which improves air quality. Another merit is that buses are rather economical. For instance, while car owners have to cover the exorbitant fuel and maintenance costs, bus fares are cheap thanks to the government subsidy.

In conclusion, although public transportation could bring several downsides, the returns are highly justifiable and reasonable.