In the future, it seems it will be more difficult to live on the earth. Some people think more money should be spent on researching other planets to live, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The threats of pollution over the last few decades have told us that our survival may be tenuous. In the future, it seems that the earth will be no longer the place where people can live. For this reason, some people believe that more money should be invested in finding other planets to live namely Mars. From my perspective, I completely agree with this point of view because of the following reasons.

First and foremost, I would argue that the problems which arise from climate change happening over the world could push the earth towards the brink of extinction. Much as I agree that there are several solutions to mitigate the detrimental effects of environmental pollution, it seems to me that it is nearly impossible to stop environmental degradation due to the permanent human demands. For instance, although we know that the huge amount of exhaust fumes stems from factories is one of the primary causes of climate change, it is an arduous challenge for we to shut down all factories because they serve our life. In other words, the end of the world might be inevitable; therefore, I believe that governments should allocate money to projects aiming to find other planets that human can live.

Additionally, the investment in cosmic research could bring considerable benefits to the society at large scale. The question about the likelihood of life on the other planets has haunted scientists for centuries; for example, the large number of artificial satellites has been launched into the universe to satisfy this curiosity. Thus, if scientists have more aid of advanced technology, they might find accurate answers for this question. Another benefit is space tourism which is the unique industry relating to researching other planets. Space tourism not only pushes out the horizon of our universal knowledge but also makes outstanding contributions to the national economy.

In conclusion, with all aforementioned reasons, I strongly believe that researching other planets to live should be high on the agenda.