In the future, it seems more difficult to live on the earth. some people think more money should be spent on researching other planets to live such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that more resources should be allocated on habitable planets research as live on earth is proving more and more challenging. I would argue that although such a proposal maybe justifiable due to the lack of resources and climatic crisis on Earth it would prove too risky and costly to be carried out.

Granted, it can be totally understandable why proponents of this scheme approve of raising funds for interplanetary research. This is because overpopulation is currently putting a huge pressure on our ecosystem, specifically through natural resources depletion and environmental contamination. These factors could contribute to climate change and global warming, causing hostile weather conditions such as flooding erosion why fire to happen more frequently, which can do a great damage to people's lives quality, especially that of those live in underprivileged countries. Therefore, funding research on searching for other planets for human race to migrate to and reside in seems immensely promising. If the new land is suitable for harboring and protecting life, the life of humans might be easier as the weather there could be more stable than Earth’s, helping people to settle and more live contently.

However, this line of reasoning is not sound because it fails to factoring the cost and risks of interplanetary travelling. It requires a collosal amount of money, up to billions of dollars, just to launch a one-man shuttle into space. The cost of transporting hundreds of people would definitely be an unimaginable, let alone the entire humans’ population. Furthermore, the new planet might have potential threats from its atmosphere, gravity, environment or surface, so no matter how much research we conduct, there will surely be some unknown dangers. Thus instead, it would be a more viable approach to direct money into environmental protection projects, since these are more practical, and could yield more tangible results.

In conclusion, albeit being seemingly advantageous, new planets research is not entirely worth spending budget on because of its cost and risks involved, and money can be better poured in other ecological preservation schemes.