Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, we are increasingly bombarded by advertising by companies that want to sell us their products. Much as I agree that a large majority of people buy the goods due to their demand, I strongly believe that advertising has a huge impact on our buying behaviours.

On the one hand, it seems that people make a purchase because of a simple reason that it enhances their standard of living. New versions of products almost always have improved features that buyer may want. A new car; for example, often has improved safety features, or it might be more economical to run. However, I would argue that the influence of marketing could manipulate people to buy products that they may do not need. Given the fact that people queue to buy the latest mobiles even when they already have a good phone. The reason is that they want to stay up to date with the newest high-status devices.

There are several concrete evidences proving that advertisements could tempt people to buy products that they might not otherwise want. First and foremost, deceptive advertisements tend to exaggerate the quality of the products; therefore, many people believe that if they buy these products, they will have good ones. Additionally, advertisements with celebrity endorsement are commonly used as an effective way to stimulate expenditure. For instance, since many people pursue the notion of modernism in terms of dressing, they have an inclination to follow the star's fashion in advertisements which could be deemed as leading fashion trends.

To sum up, with all aforementioned proofs, I completely agree that the power of advertising is extremely enormous; thus, the products that people buy might be not truly their needs.