Nowadays, a large amount of advertising is aimed at children. Some people think this can have negative effects on children and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently, advertisements have become an ever-increasing widespread phenomenon, and many of them target at children and youngsters. Consequently, the critics of them contend that a complete prohibition against children-oriented advertising is a must for its detrimental influence on children. Personally, I oppose the necessity of this kind of prohibition despite those undeniable drawbacks.

Admittedly, advertisements directed at children have become a social problem for the following two reasons. Initially, an elaborate advertisement is more likely to tempt children to make a purchase because they lack the ability to distinguish misleading or false information included in those advertisements. A classic example is that juveniles, as prospective consumers, are normally not cautious enough about the messages delivered by their favourite cartoon characters, and if a character describes a brand as the most nutritious food in his world, it is almost impossible for children to realize that the mentioned world refers to the world in the animation rather than the real world we live in. Another disadvantage of children-oriented marketing is the higher possibility of irrational buying behaviour. For example, however expensive a toy is, with an attractive advertisement, children would beg their parents for it regardless of the price even if they have already had a variety of similar toys for lack of awareness of the value of money.

However, the main weakness of a total banning is that they neglect the benefits brought by the advertisements and the positive effects of a well-developed censorship system. In terms of the advantages, it is evident that advertisements, no matter on adults or children, provide us with more information about products, and we would have fewer choices without the assistance of advertising. Additionally, advertising directed at children has provided numerous positions, which means a complete banning would raise the unemployment rate and lead to many social problems, including famine and poverty. On the other hands, the government can tackle this concern with a rigorous censorship system. For example, if every advertisement needs the authorization to exclude misleading or false information, insufficient critical thinking for adolescents could not do more damage to them.

On balance, although children-oriented marketing undermines consumers’ interests to some extent, alternative methods rather than the entire prohibition should be applied to address those problems.