Nowadays a large amount of advertising is aimed at children Some people think this can have negative effects on children and should be banned To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people think that advertising targeting children should be banned as it is negative to youngsters. Although I can see the severe impacts of those advertisements on children, I believe that such a ban is not the idea.

The first reason to oppose to those advertisements is that much of them is for food and drinks that are very unhealthy but appetizing, which encourage gullible children to consume them without knowing their bad effects on their health. As a consequence, such fatty, sugary and salty food create obese, unhealthy

youngster, with bad eating habits, leading to paying a high price in terms of extra medical care such children will eventually require. Another appealing reason is that it it misleading to use children’s

favourite heroes and cartoon characters in advertisements. Children are unable to distinguish between TV programs and commercials and will pester their parents to purchase those products. If if they do not, their children might have a feeling of frustration and inadequacy.

On the other hand, although some people might have the idea that banning advertisements on children

is the best way, it seems impossible to eliminate online advertisements as they are difficult to define whether

they are aiming at children or not. In addition, more and more advertisements now should not be prohibited as they are non-commercial and promote creativity, core values such as friendship and honesty and more significantly, educational resources such as courses or books. Moreover, the best way to combat with such problem is that children should be taught about critical thinking skills so that they would not be misled by those advertisements.

In conclusion, children are impressionable to the misleading information from advertisements targeting

them. This problem could be solved with a ban on those adverts, but I suppose that there are better options