Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause?

What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

Recently, illiteracy have been receiving a great deal of public attention. While it has a strong impacts on social and individuals life, there are some steps which can be considered to tackled it.

There are two obvious effects of lacking of reading and writing skills in modern life. In terms of individuals, without reading and writing ability, people have myriad difficulties finding a stable job, which make people needy. In fact, if people can not read or write, they can not apply for the job of white-collar workers. As a result, they just can be employed as blue-collar workers whose salaries are usually not enough to support them and their family. From the perspective of society, the economy of country can not develop if the most worker of labour market are illiterate. For example, after 1975 the literacy rate of Vietnam reached 90% so it is crisis period of Vietnam especially economy. Fortunately, some policies were implemented which help Vietnam to eradicate illiteracy so that it can develop nowadays.

There are some measures which the governments can take to cope with these setbacks. First, national and local authorities should provide basic literacy classes for each province to help citizens there learn to write or read. For example, some developing countries such as Thailand, Vietnam, Lao executed literacy classes plan and successfully eradicate illiteracy. Another solution is the governments need to ensure that all people have a right to access to education since they were children. In fact, if everyone is entitled to study reading, writing and other skills at elementary school, there would not any illiteracy can occur.

In conclusion, due to the significant impact of illiteracy on human life, the governments should implement some aforementioned solution to address this problem.