Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

Although it is apparent that our world has been developed day by day, it has a significant number of citizens who are illiterate. While this problem brings about many negative impacts, governments can alleviate it in some ways.

Illiteracy nowadays can be responsible for two results. Firstly, people who are stuck in the inability to read and write would confront legal problems. It is clear that if a person cannot read or write, this also means that he cannot protect his own legitimate rights by themselves. Secondly, illiteracy is really an stumbling block in modern life. For example, if a citizen cannot understand economic contracts, they could not reach a consensus, in other words, they are incapable of running their own business.

However, governments can diminish this circumstance by two panaceas. One of the solutions is that authorities should leverage international subsidies to improve education. Although it is clear that economic development should be high on governments’ agenda, governments should allocate resources to provide more literacy classes and ensure basic education for everyone. In other remedy, governments should take media into account of raising people’s awareness about the significance of literacy. For example, authorities should impose more policies on news coverage to carry more stories which encourage education.

In conclusion, it is undoubted that many people nowadays are still illiterate, which is a culprit for many problems. However, the governments can control these problems by many remedies.