Nowadays, many people change jobs quite regularly, rather than working

in the one company for their entire careers.

Why do you think this is happening?

How can companies keep their workers?

Employee retention has a great impact on business growth as loyal and committed employees help in scaling the business. People change their workplaces more frequently either switching companies or their career paths entirely nowadays. In this essay, I will tender an explanation for this happening and also highlight two ideas that companys can implement to retain their employees.

Frequent changing of workplaces in today's society may be as a result of seeking better opportunities for personal growth while having personal time or job security. Some individuals may seek companies with more opportunities geared towards growing in their careers and meeting their career goals with time to spend with family, while others may be seeking more secure job options. For instance; In South Korea, it is believed that working with the government is more stable than in private firms because of the high rate of personal business failure. Another example is after the Covid-19 pandemic, most individuals prefer to work remotely giving them more personal time and flexibility as opposed to working as a white collar needed to be physically present at their workplace. In conclusion, personal perference greatly influences members of the labour force to explore and move workplaces frequently.

Enterprises can improve employee retention by carrying out time stipulated surveys either annually or bi-annually. These survey wouls help gather insights on employee preferences and aid the company implement strategies that would satisfay employees and keep them in the company without harmin g company profits. For instance; If a survey indicates that most female staff leave after childbirth because the company doesn't allow martnerity leave, the company can devise a plan that would keep these employees either by revising its policy and allowing maternity leave, adding a nursery section for nursing mothers and their infants.

In other words, employee satisfaction plays a key role in improving employee retention.

Finally, I argue that the frequent changes in workplace by individuals is due to personal perferences and not money. Only when companies understand that keeping their employess satisfies is a major part in their retention can they succeed in having staff that stay on board for longer.