Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization.

What might be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days increasingly more people are choosing to work for themselves instead of being employed. While having flexible working hours could be the most appealing reason, there are still potential risks involved in running your own business.

Flexible working hours may be the most common reason behind this trend. In other words, self-employed people can freely choose when to work, so that they have more time for other interests in life. Some people may choose to pursue a hobby, and others may prefer to spend this spared time with their families. So most people become self-employed because they want to be able to dictate how many hours they put in their work.

Having said that, the idea or running you own business comes with its own risks. Although people who are self-employed could enjoy flexible working hours, sometimes the line between work and leisure becomes blurred. Many business owners tend to become obsessed so they usually fall victim to the issue of work-life balance. So this defeats the original purpose of having more time to themselves.

To conclude, financial freedom coupled with flexible working hours may have made self-employment an attractive option, but before going into this type of employment, future business owners should consider some of the possible risks, with the financial one being the most critical.