Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed>

Nowadays, certain industries such as fashion, information technology, and innovation have created a new model of employment as being self-employed. However, people who work for an organization still outweigh those who work for themselves. Although there are factors that make people prefer entrepreneurship, drawbacks cannot be neglected.

To start with, there are several reasons that make self-employment trending, particularly among the young generation. First, following orders and taking co-workers’ diverse opinions into account can be extremely suffocating. However, being an entrepreneur always allow one to include one's own ideas and preferences. Moreover, being a master of one’s self can give a feeling of luxury and improve a person’s identity and image in the surrounding. People are also being told that they have no boundaries for success and can potentially become as wealthy as Steve Jobs for example.

Financially, it is also no longer a miracle to set up a new company. In many countries like US and Canada, bank loans are assessable and highly granted to anyone who can provide enough detailed information on starting up a new business. A lot of business seminars and educational workshops which train youngsters who are dreaming of becoming businessmen and experts in various careers can be found too.

Turning to the other side, there are also disadvantages for self-employed people. For instance, it becomes a necessity for them to be ‘jack of all trades.’ By that I mean they need to perform the tasks of departments as many as possible, from marketing to manufacturing. Moreover, unlike working for a company, they are the only ones responsible if they take leaves for maternity, family vacation, or personal issues. At the same time, hiring employees demand a convenient workplace and other facilities which may cost a fortune. If unfortunate, threats of going bankrupt can be faced unless any profit is not made after the starting-up period.

To summarize, becoming an innovator and building your own company is, indeed, an inspiring dream for anyone in any career. Nevertheless, since there can be a lot of potential problems and financial risks, most people prefer playing it safe.