Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, improvements in technology have had a significant influence on human communication. It impacts our relationships in several ways and personally, I think it is a positive development.

Technology has greatly affected the way people communicate for all business, social, and educational purposes today. For example, most businessmen arrange discussions for trades on online platforms such as Skype without ever meeting once in life. If we look at education, a variety of online courses in different studies are offered on the Internet. Since teachers conduct lectures via Zoom and it is no longer mandatory for students to be physically at the campus. Also in social life, young people tend to surf Facebook, chatting with friends, making new ones, and finding peers with common interests. Gathering at cafes and tea shops in a traditional way is becoming less common among friends.

Advancement in technology has removed any boundary we face in interacting with each other. Firstly, in the past, the cooperation of companies used to be limited to writing and telegram. However, now, with the availability of the Internet, heads of organizations can virtually meet from any corner of the world and this has flourished the economic growth. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks in the social aspect by isolating close people and discouraging talking face-to-face. In my opinion, online relationships are poor substitutes for real relationships.

In conclusion, technology has revolutionized the interaction between people. Without technology and online platforms, humankind would still be outdated and confined in each area of the world.