Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive development?

Today, using smartphones has become a regular activity for children. There are several reasons behind this trend and despite having some negative impact on addiction and health, I believe positives are more significant.

The main reason why young people are addicted to phones is because of the social benefits they offer. With the availability of the Internet, we can make new friends, chat with our peers and keep in touch with them without restrictions of distance. The advent of free mobile games also makes the attraction stronger. Strategy and multi-player games are so stimulating and realistic that children insist on playing for long hours. In addition, young adults solely rely on smartphones to study, explore new information, or read global news.

Addiction to using smartphones can lead to negative effects such as sedentary lifestyles. Having excess screen time is not ideal for health as children lack physical activities and tire their eyesight. This habit may even cause health problems like obesity, muscular and optical problems in the long run. However, on the positive side, phones and the Internet provide a learning platform for youngsters. For example, children can extend their studies and improve their language skills by browsing educational websites. Most importantly, this eye-opening device introduces the extensive use of technology to the future generation.

In conclusion, children today spend hours on their smartphones because they fulfill their entertainment and social needs. In my opinion, it is a positive development, and with proper guidance from elders, children can make effective use of phones for educational and personal improvements.