Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization.

Why might this be the case?

What should be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In the past most of the people prefer to get hired by a corporate firm or organization, however working for self is a new trend this days. This change in people’s perspective towards work is happening due to the work condition and finance facilities; in turn this idea has downsides which includes financial crisis and increased stress level.

The most compelling reason why people opt to start own start-up is the flexible working conditions. Self-employed person do not answerable to their boss. The can decide their working hours and holidays on their own and even can work from a home. Another reason for change in people’s view is because of availability of bank loan at affordable rate. To start a sole proprietorship one needs funding. Present days this is available at a door step makes it easy for people to start their own start-ups. For example, with the mundra loan in India around 4 millions of young people have started their own business in 2018.

However, running a self-employed firm is not an easy task, and financial crisis is one of the reason. In order to run and gain profit from the own business people need to look after all the financial matter on their own. So, if market does not go as per expectation, it will difficult to sustain and makes difficult to survive. Apart from this another drawback is increased stress level. A person who runs a firm needs to look after all the matter during and even after working hours. This makes it difficult to balance the healthy mental state. It has been found by a researcher from Cambridge University that people who work for themselves declared more stressful on a person’s scale than their counterpart who work as a salaried person.

In conclusion, more and more people choose to work for themselves because tempting work conditions and easily available financial support. However, they must consider the drawbacks of it before consideration.