Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization.

Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

It is a common trend nowadays for people to work privately by themselves rather than contributing to any organizations or corporates. From my perspective, there are several plausible explanations for this situation, whereas this trendy development is accompanied by some significant drawbacks that are going to be discussed in the essay.

On the one hand, there is an array of possible justifications for people preferring to work alone. One of the most acceptable reasons focuses on the aspect of flexibility that people receive when being their own bosses. It is indisputable that freelancers are given the freedom of time, which probably enhances their work satisfaction. To be more specific, private workers can manage their schedule to suit them nicely, offering individuals more free time and giving them a better sense of pleasure. Another contributory factor for this trend lies in the working environment. It is said that working from home is an ideal condition to boost productivity and outcomes. Take professionals working in creative fields as an example, artists and musicians are more likely to be motivated and inspired randomly outside the office buildings. Therefore, a majority of people now insist on being self-employed, given the aforementioned reasons.

However, freelancers might encounter some major drawbacks which have detrimental impacts on their work performance. First and foremost, those who work alone are more prone to having particular limits on their communication and teamwork skills. Many of them may struggle to be a part of a group to work on projects, given the long period of time not collaborating with any colleague. In addition, the lack of support is worth mentioning to be another possible disadvantage. Since challenges and hurdles may occur anytime at work, support and aides are of paramount importance to overcome unexpected situations. Unfortunately, freelancers are often left with no guides and having to solve problems alone can be a daunting task.

To sum up, the given development can take root from a number of reasons regarding the volatility and working environment. Moreover, this common trend has some potential drawbacks, directly affecting freelancers to function properly.