Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games.

What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

Nowadays, almost every person on the planet uses computers on a daily basis while a majority of children spend their time playing computer games. This essay will discuss what are the harmful effects of playing computer games including computer addiction and weakening of eyesight and give solutions to these problems like using protective glasses and balancing time between playing games and extracurricular activities.

Computer addiction is a real problem that has arisen after the increasing popularity of computer games. The main issue that addiction causes is the person cannot detach himself from the activity he is addicted to and enjoy anything else. Because of this these children seldom go outside to engage in outdoor activities and their studies also get affected. All this happens because they are addicted to playing computer games and if they leave this activity it makes them feel miserable. For example, a study done by researchers showed that those children who play computer games are more likely to suffer from poor grades. These children also develop poor eyesight because they stare at the computer screen all day without any break. This over time has an adverse effect on their eyesight. A study done by researchers showed that children who play computer games are more prone to develop poor eyesight than those who play outdoor games.

To prevent this from occurring, children should be told to take breaks from time to time and wear protective computer glasses everytime they are playing games on the computer. To prevent a child from getting addicted to a computer game he should be encouraged to participate in outdoor activities like playing outside with friends. This allows a child to develop other interests and he learns to balance his time between the computer and his other hobbies. A child should also be told to wear computer glasses whenever he uses the computer for a long period as these glasses protect our eyesight from harmful rays from the computer screen that could eventually damage our eyes. For example, a study was conducted by researchers between people who wear eye protection and those who do not. The results showed that those who wore computer glasses had significantly less risk to developing bad eyesight than those who did not.

In conclusion, its safe to say that almost every person uses computers in one way or another in their daily lives and that children are getting increasing involved in playing computer games. This essay discussed the harmful effects these video games have on children's health like addiction and eye weaknesses and gave solutions to this issue that included taking breaks and using computer glasses.