Nowadays media should include more good news in their publications. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is an undeniable fact that mass media is playing an important role in our daily life more and more. Given this background, there is an opinion that more desirable news should be reported by the media. From my own viewpoint, however, I personally disagree with this statement.

There are some drawbacks with confining contents of media coverage to good news. To begin with, if people want more positive news to be reported, it would be difficult for the media to fully fulfill their most significant role of monitoring government authorities. According to a recent report issued by an independent committee on media coverage, it is the media which has revealed more than 90% of government frauds in the last decade.

In addition, since the media also plays an important role in reporting on natural disasters, if the media starts reporting only happy events, people will lose a valuable information resource for surviving a natural disaster like an earthquake, tsunami or typhoon. This is evidenced in a report published by the Reconstruction Agency of Japan after the Great East Japan Earthquake occurred in 2011 where more than three quarters of the respondents answered that the mass media is by far the most reliable source of information when a disaster hits.

What’s more, crime reporting by the media have also contributed to raising people's awareness of crime prevention. As is shown from a statistical survey conducted by the Japanese Cabinet Office, the biggest cause of the public interest in security is the media, with more than 60% of the respondents expecting the deterrence effect on crimes by the media.

In conclusion, I can not agree with the opinion that the mass media should focus more on preferable news.