Nowadays more and more business meetings and business trainings are taking place online. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days the trend of online meetings and training in business is on the rise. Although there are some drawbacks to it, the benefits are considerably large. In this essay, I will shed some light on both sides.

To start with the positives, online training and meetings can be organised from any part of the world. This helps most of the multinational companies which have their headquarters in the US and various low-cost development centers in different parts of the world, and that makes it all the more necessary for them to have regular sync up call. For instance, Apple has its R&D center in US and testing in China, so if there is a critical bug found in testing, syncing up online makes it a lot easier for developers and testers on either side. Additionally, the cost of organizing an online call is significantly lower than a physical meeting or training. For example, training with a large number of participants can incur a lot of money in traveling as well as booking an auditorium.

Now with the negatives, since most of these companies are based across the globe, it can have a detrimental impact on participation. Due to the fact that they operate in different time zones, there may be a possibility that meetings or training are organized out of office hours, and it may hinder participation. To illustrate this, if there is a conference call organized from the US early morning, it will be too late for the developers sitting in Australia then they may drop out of the call.

Another factor to consider is that online calls are prone to disturbance and can deter the quality of training as well as the output of meetings. whereas training or meeting that is done physically, mostly ensures a calm and productive environment.

To conclude, online call and training have brought many positive developments for various companies that by far outweigh the drawbacks. Although the difference in time zones and susceptibility of disturbance has to be dealt with, we can not deny how much online sync up has bridged the gaps and saved costs for various institutions.