Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

In modern society, a majority of young adults tend to bear babies when they grow older. While there are some causes which lead to this tendency, several effects can affect countries.

There are two reasons why people love to begin their parenthood lately. Firstly, young adults want to prioritize their youth’s years for jobs, and they also like to find more opportunities in careers. Because of their viewpoints, they can only give a better life for their children if parents have stable jobs and enough income for the family. Secondly, people will have more time to study how to take care of their children and family if they have a baby lately. For example, the research in 2005 Vietnam, the women were aged over 35 knew how to take care of babies better than the younger women. Therefore, these babies tend to succeed in their lives in the future.

However, this tendency also has two effects on societies. On the one hand, women, who pregnant after 40-year-old, will easily have a defected child such as Down syndrome and governments have to spend the amount of money in the nation’s budget to take care for these babies. For instance, in a statistic at Hanoi, babies will have more than 50% chance to have Down syndrome if their mothers were aged over 40. On the other hand, the distance between the two generations will be farther if people have children later. Therefore, children feel very difficult to share their personal lives with parents.

In conclusion, although more and more people like to begin their parenthood lately, this tendency has several drawbacks to societies.