Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

It is true that the number of families decide to have children later have been increasing dramatically in recent years. There are various reasons behind this phenomenon, which is having adverse impacts on society and community as a whole.

There are two principle reasons why people tend to delay parenthood in their early stage. Firstly, it comes with no surprise that in the new era, all nations, especially the industrialised nations such as Japan and England, have the hectic pace of life and enormous workload, which make citizens feel more stressful and tired. Therefore, if parent make the prompt decision to have children when they are young, then it is more likely that they will bear more burden on their shoulders, not only with their own work, but also with the parenting responsibility. Furthermore, those young generations, who are well-educated and highly ambitious, would be inclined to fulfil their own dreams and pursue their lifelong ambition instead of focusing on nuturing their offspring, which could distract them from their career aspiration.

This trend, however, brings undesired impacts on both society and every single family. Admittedly, putting off having children early could lead to aged population in the long run, which is the huge headache that government officials, especially in developed world, has been facing unprecedentedly. As a result, the lack of young skilled workforce and army soldiers would be the seriously long-term problem. Besides, this phenomenon also greatly impair the quality of family life due to the large age gap between parents and children. If, for instance, parents are in their 50s, while their offspring are just teenager, then it will be tough for maintaining mutual understanding and sentimental bonds between family members. Children, therefore, would not have full development in both emotional and physical aspect, which could result in many social illnesses such as juvenile delinquency and teen alcohol and drug abuse, and so forth.

In conclusion, delayed childbearing, which results from heavy burden and career ambition, could influence profoundly family life and society as the whole.