Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Is this a negative or positive trend?

In recent years, there has been an enormous number of couples that decide to delay parenthood at their later stages of life. Although this is beneficial to some aspects, I would contend that the drawbacks would be far more significant which will be addressed in this essay.

There are several reasons why parents often choose to procrastinate their giving birth. Firstly, since the labour market is more and more fierce than it did in the past, married couples need to pursue their career paths in order to make a living or even avoid being financially disadvantaged condition later. Obviously, not only does this will save a great deal of time for them but the cost of taking care of their kids. Secondly, parents are more likely to enjoy their life after marrying. In fact, there is almost no time for them to do that if they opt to give birth immediately because there are so many things that need to be considered thoroughly by married couples, namely the tuition fees of entering kindergartens for their children later.

Nevertheless, I personally believe that the advantages would be far more the aforementioned benefits. The primary reason is that parents will have to cope with an enormous number of health risks, such as excessive bleeding in the prenatal and postnatal period after childbirth, as they determine to delay parenthood lately. Another significant one is that a child is an integral part of the family that could remain the happiness among members. According to experts, married couples tend to be isolation by themselves as they gain a handsome salary or higher promotion in the job, which means they will spend much time or even money on other things in lieu of caring each other or childcare after married in a long time, resulting in divorce later.

In conclusion, although the benefits of having children later are undeniable, I am strongly of the opinion that this would be detrimental impacts on couples' life in many cases by aforementioned reasons.