Nowadays most people believe individuals cannot do something to improve the environment, but Governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

People may claim that ordinary people do not have any responsibility with environmental problems, and this issue should be taken seriously by only the government and big enterprises. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this idea. I believe that each individual who lives on the Earth should be in charge of the health of Mother Nature.

First of all, the government can not always follow their citizens everywhere to remind them about environmental responsibilities. To do that kind of work is nearly impossible, because this may cost too much money and require too many workers. The budget and the human resources are limited, if the government focuses too much on the environment, there will not be enough resources to solve other social issues anymore. All the government can do is to impose some laws and force their citizens to obey so that they do not harm the environment.

Secondly, ordinary people play a vital role in the improvement of the environment. Even if the government enforces the rules in order to protect the environment, it is meaningless if their citizens do not comply. Moreover, the power of the majority cannot be ignored. For example, if there is a factory discharging waste illegally and causing pollution for that area, residents who live in that place can join hands and sue the company. One individual may not be successful, but many individuals can really get the attention of the government and successfully bring back the fresh environment of where they live.

The awareness of the mass people, their spontaneous and active participation and contribution can improve the environment and the government and large companies can take some steps to inspire them even more.