Nowadays, people always throw the old things away when they buy new things, and we are living in a throw-away society. What factors cause this phenomenon? What problem does the phenomenon leads to?

With the advancement of technology and advertising, shopping today become much easier in comparison to the past. Consequently, it leads to a throw-way habit where people buy new things to replace the old one just because it is outdated. This essay will discuss some reasons and problems that are caused by this habit.

This phenomenon is caused by various factors. First, people nowadays pay more attention to their appearance than in the past. Thus, to fulfil this need, they prefer buying new clothes or accessories rather than wearing the old one. In some special occasion like meeting or attending an interview, it is understandable that a new dress would boost the owner’s comfort and confidence, which is a significant contribution to their success. Secondly, due to the industrial revolution, mass production becomes popular which helps boost the competitiveness amongst companies, thus to attract customers, they often launch a novel product annually. As a result, more and more people, especially juvenile buy new stuff to catch this trend rather than fulfil their actual need. Take mobile phone trend for an example, each year, there a season when people line up a long queue in front of an Apple store to own their latest product.

This habit causes several serve problems. First, some people become accustomed to a habit that forces themselves to buy new stuff regardless of their actual demand and finally leads themselves to become a shopaholic. This kind of habit not only waste their time but also make them overwhelming with debt. While adults have to deal with financial stress, a child become lazy and get accustomed to a sedentary lifestyle, which will affect negatively both their mental and physical development. From the environmental point of view, using new stuff means the old things must be thrown away, which means more waste products, especially the non-recyclable one are exerted to the environment, which eventually leads the entire world to an uninhabitable place.

In conclusion, throw-away habit affects negatively both an individual and the environment. Thus, before buying a product, people should make the right decision based on their actual needs rather than just try to catch the latest trend.