Nowadays people spend much more time and money on their appearance than before. Do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that people use more cosmetics or buy more clothes than they used to before. I agree with the fact that people spend more resources on their appearance and I see it mostly from a commercial and technological point of view.

One of the impactful trends to buy more is consumerism which is growing globally. Consumerism is what I see everywhere. Every industry tries to persuade their customers that they need their products by making powerful advertisements. By seeing such colorful advertisements, people are not content anymore with what they already have. Cosmetic and beauty industry is a good example. This industry produces so many versatile products and then make it well publicized. Young girls and women are tempted to buy more and more of such stuffs to look younger and beautiful.

Moreover, I consider technology so inviting for most of us and it grew exponentially in recent decades. Take social media and augmented reality (AR) for instance. With social media companies promote new lifestyles and also use digital marketing methods to invite people to purchase their product. Augmented reality is used to imagine a dress virtually on an electronic screen. Therefore, one will enjoy what is going on and tries so many clothes whether which one to buy and shopper will purchase through this stimulating experience.

In brief, due to growth of consumerism and commercialism people invested so much money and time on garments, beauty stuff and so on. Technology has played an effective role on the road to consumerism too.