Nowadays, sports is a big business with high earnings for professional sportspeople and companies involved both financially and other ways. Is this a positive or negative development for sports?

These days, sports have been invested increasingly by private organizations in various forms such as money, sports equipment and so forth. From that, elite sports athletes can make a great deal of salary than before as sports have become a lucrative business. In my perspective, this development brings both positive and negative impacts, and this essay will discuss them.

To begin with, when sports grow a profitable industry and earning is the only goal, a number of illegal actions will arise like gambling or match-fixing. In fact, large sums of money effortlessly lure some sports players into criminal activities in matches and that would ruin the primary value of sports. For example, VietNam National Football team scandal in SEA Games 23, 7 players of the team took part in betting and arrange the score. Secondly, when professional players receive a huge level of wage, this means that they own a mentality have to win in tournaments they participate in. Therefore, in order to win or to receive incredible monetary awards, a few sportsmen resort to illegal performance-enhancing drugs. Chinese swimmer Sun Yang who has been accused of applying prohibited drugs in his competitions is a particular example.

On the other hand, developing sports in the professional direction requires a huge investment, however, sports are not the major concern of governments compared to other social issues. Hence, funding from private firms is indispensable for the growth of sports. Since the HAGL, a prosperous business group in Vietnam, allocated billions of Vietnam Dong to the construction of a sports institute where trains young football talents. Besides, with the appearing of commercial enterprises also helps to promote economic development. Brands can apply the image of famous athletes to advert theirs produces to encourage people to buy them.

In conclusion, with the reasons aforementioned above, I believe that when sport becoming a type of business, it will produce beneficial and adverse effects. While well-trained athletes will have more financial incentives to improve their performance, a series of illegal profit-making activities can appear.