Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals, and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that governments should use their funds to invest in the preservation of wildlife. Others, however, think that using these funds to help people is better. In my view, the protection of wild animals is extremely important and that countries need to allocate money to preserve their native animal species.

In fact, the conservation of the natural animal world could bring many benefits to human. First of all, about medicine, a great deal of wildlife has found ways to fight off bacteria and cancer cells. They can create novel molecules that chemists have never known, and so, studying and researching these properties of species can help scientists find new, effective treatments. In the body of many plants and animals also contain useful chemicals, serving the production of pharmaceuticals. For example, In American, more than a quarter of prescription contain substances found in plants and animals. In addition, wild animals species can bring economic value. For instance, according to the Texas National Park and Wildlife Management Board, bird watching is the fastest growing recreational outdoor activity, estimated to contribute about 400 million each year to the state's budget. Research by the US Department of Wildlife and Fisheries also reported that observing the natural environment earned 85 billion dollars for the United State in 2001.

There are about 10 to 15 million species living on the planet together with humans creating a giant ecosystem whereby each part can influence the others. Therefore, the disappearance of one species will cause a chain reaction affecting many other species. Especially for the species that play an important role in the ecosystem, their extinction can lead to unpredictable consequences such as the gray wolf which is thought to be one of the most important species in the world.

In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, I believe that governments should spend their budget on the protection of wildlife because that not only reduce negative impacts on the environment caused by humans but also fetch many benefits through the development of the economy and the progression in medicine.