Advertising is becoming more and more common in everyday life. Some people say that advertising has a positive impact on our lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that advertising positively affects human life. From my perspective, I think this brings both pros and cons to our lives and this essay will outline them.

People in the modern world easily catch advertisements almost everywhere, from online commercials to posters displayed on crowded streets. Frequent approach advertisement of the same or similar types of products helps consumers make a clear comparison of certain aspects of the product, such as function or price, before deciding which items are suitable for their needs. For example, when you are hesitating you should choose iPhone X or Samsung Note 10, the easiest way to find out is through commercials. With them, you can compare two products and assess which phone is appropriate for your demand. Additionally, the advertising industry employs many people. It could tackle the high rate of unemployment in some developing countries, followed by the nation's development. Advertising agencies in the US, for instance, created about 280000 jobs.

However, widespread advertisements can also have some negative consequences that are worth to be considered. First of all, Advertisers aim to convince us that buying more stuff will make us happier but this consumerism lifestyle is what is actually ruining our life. We are always told to buy new clothes, that girls need to wear makeup if they want to be pretty and that you can’t be “cool” without having the latest iPhone. Adverts have taught us these habits and many more because it keeps us buying more and keeps companies rich. Furthermore, many firms have started advertising directly to children to bypass the skeptical parents. On TV, there are too many toy commercials to count in between TV shows that children watch every day. As a result, they ask their parents to buy those toys and if their parents say “no”, they will start pestering or nagging to put pressure on their mother or father.

In conclusion, advertisements of all types can influence our lives in both helpful and harmful ways, and advertisements that target children should be carefully regulated by governments. Consumers should learn how to become intelligent customers.