Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourism industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

These days, nations having emerging economies are pouring thousands of billion dollar in their countries' tourism areas in order to expand and update them. Why does this tendency happen? This essay below will outline the reasons for the case as well as discussing its pros and cons.

It is not hard to see that the most popular development trend of countries today is to participate in global organisations where they can earn economy's benefits, boost relationships and exchange culture. Therefore, i believe that investing in travelling industries is one of the wise ways to exploit the advantages that it brings. First of all, a well-developed tourism industry can attract a wide variety of people coming to experience, thereby creating new businesses and jobs for local residents that is an enormous income for the economy. In 2019, for example, according to world tourism & travel council (WTTC) the tourism & travel industry contributed 10.4% of global GDP and over 330 million jobs. On the second point, promoting international tourism not only help to improve international relations with other countries but also is a chance to share a country's customs and culture with people all around the world by their festivals, traditional food, etc..

On the other hand, beside the benefits that this phenomenon manufactures, we can not ignore the accompanying negative impacts. Tourism growth puts pressure on the environment, the hordes of travellers from oversea often litter wherever they go and no bother to clean after leaving in areas they have visited, on average a tourist throw away about 1 kg of rubbish per day, this can lead to dirty roads and clogged sewage system in these places, which negatively and directly affects indigenous people's living conditions. Furthermore, accommodating and meeting the demands of visitors mean having to sacrifice native resources. For instance, in several well-known destinations of Vietnam, local people cut down a vast region of forest to build infrastructures for tourism. As a consequence, that causes the soil to degrade, destroying the habitats of native animals.

In conclusion, I would have to announce that expanding the tourism industry in a country is a positive development if it is properly managed. However, we should not only focus on the advantages that it produces, but do not care about the bad effects on the environment.