Nowadays young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people fear that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As countries and cities more and more developed, the appearance of large shopping malls is on the rise and due to factors such as advertising and boredom, youngsters are now spending an overwhelming amount of time in shopping malls where they are aimlessly wasting their money and time. In my view, I believe that this trend negatively influences the youth as well as where they live as a whole.

Firstly, young people use their leisure time in shopping malls would cause bad effect on their physical health and mind. They will be less likely to participate in outdoor activities with their loved ones. This may reduce the amount of time for their social relationships in the long run and may get symptoms of a shopaholic. It is well known that those who spend time outside playing sports or joining in other recreational activities will enjoy a much healthier lifestyle and be less at risk of suffering from a range of common diseases caused by a sedentary lifestyle, such as obesity and diabetes.

Secondly, from societal points of view, as the juniors are interested in going shopping malls rather than focusing on study or work, the community may bear from a decrease in the intellectual level and work productivity. Due to almost all shopping addicts can spend a whole day going around a mall, which reduces the time used in the workplace and school. As a result, there will be less work being done, which causes the economy to suffer. The youths can skip classes and lessons to enjoy going shopping with their friends, making the national quality of education drop significantly.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that the phenomenon that a majority of young teenagers are wasting their precious time in shopping malls has many harmful impacts on both the young and society as a whole.