Nowadays young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people fear that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Shopping malls, in modern society, have become the primary location for youngsters to spend their recreation time. However, some people have reservations about this phenomenon as it may endanger youngsters and pose several social issues to their society. As far as I am concerned, such an idea is potentially flawed owing to several reasons which will be demonstrated in the essay below.

To commence, the malls may act as a stress relief therapy for the young in the era when they have to make great attempts to make ends meet and this may lead to causing stress in this group. As a matter of fact, the demand of looking for a method to temporarily escape from the negative world is accumulated in the young community and malls are an ideal option for them. The malls offer a great number of conveniences that help young people leave their worries behind, for instance, just enter a mall and the cool airflow from the air conditioners can erase your frustrating feeling caused by the hot weather in Ho Chi Minh city.

It is worth mentioning that the expenditure of the young tends to increase in the service industry which shopping malls are a small part. Such a rise in spending may pave a way for the positive development of the manufacturing branch and contribute to the wealth of the whole economy of a nation as well. A case in point is Giga mall in Thủ Đức district, since the time of its appearance, it has boosted the consumption of youngsters and the economic status of the surrounding area has recorded a flourish regardless of being a remote suburban district.

To sum up, spending time in shopping malls is not completely a worthless decision of the young since they are beneficial in several aspects, both to the young in particular and the economy in general.