Nowadays young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people fear that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, shopping malls have become the primary location for youngsters to spend their recreation time, especially in the metropolitan areas. However, some people have reservations about this phenomenon as it may endanger youngsters and pose several social issues to their society. As far as I am concerned, such an idea is potentially flawed owing to several reasons which will be demonstrated in the essay below.

To commence, the malls could serve as a form of stress relief therapy for the young in the current materialistic world. Young people now have to make great attempts to make ends meet and that might cause serious tensions in this group, consequently, the young community has a growing need to find a method to escape the unpleasant state of mind derived from life temporarily, and malls are the perfect solution for them. Young people can leave their troubles behind due to the numerous advantages that the malls offer. For instance, when people enter a shopping plaza, the cold air from the air conditioners might erase their frustrating feeling caused by the sweltering heat of Ho Chi Minh city.

Moreover, it is worth mentioning that the increasing expenditure of the young in shopping centers may pave a way for the positive development of the manufacturing branch and contribute to the wealth of the whole economy of a nation as well. A case in point is Gigamall in Thủ Đức district, which, despite being located in a distant suburban area, has since its opening increased the consumption of young people nearby and improved the economic situation of the neighborhood.

To sum up, I am of the opinion that the decision of the young to spend time in shopping malls is not entirely pointless because such places bring numerous advantages to both the young in particular and the economy in general.