Nowadays young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people fear that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the fast-paced life of the contemporary world, it has become far more prevalent that young people frequently head to the shopping centers in their leisure time. The positive and negative impacts of this trend on youth have become a hot topic among people. This essay discusses each point of view before reaching some reasoned conclusion.

Firstly, rising demand for shopping, from the social and economic angles, can be seen as a form of commercial promotion. To explain, recently, shopping has ranked among favorite activities for teenagers and young adults since they have tendencies to easily get tempted by new items, and they willing spend on anything that can satisfy their crave for shopping. Therefore, the more products the malls sell, the more profits they gain, which are beneficial for the national tax system as well as the promising economy. Secondly, on an individual level, engaging in regular shopping can bring them much joy. For example, a woman might have a great experience and a sense of satisfaction after completing a shopping trip.

However, along with positive there are some negative impacts of this trend that cannot be given nelson’s eye. Firstly, the youth might suffer from symptoms of shopaholic or shopping addictions. Moreover, young people waste their time at such places and less likely to participate in outdoor activities with their friends or family. This also affects their health and reduces the quality time for their social relationships in the long run. Secondly, from society and economic point of view; many shopping addicts face financial problems, and they stress out with debt. To illustrate, in some cases, they simply max out their credit cards, and face problems in paying back the banks.

To recapitulate, the increasing spending in shopping malls by the youth is beneficial for economy meanwhile detrimental for individuals if not monitored.