There is huge increase in the size of cities. Many cities have grown in a haphazard way why is careful planning important in the development of cities?

Presently, the world is witnessing several problems due to increasing urbanization. It is universally accepted fact that haphazard growth in cities is always been headache for government, hence it needs proper planning. This essay discusses the need of proper planning for growing city.

To begin with, there are several issues that demand cities to be planed. To enumerate, cities are densely populated areas and providing facilities like proper sanitation, shelter, transportation and water is tremendous task. As, new buildings are built every day, as thousands of people flow in cities for education and employment and lack of planning leads entire city collapse. For example, locating industrial area near residential area make dwellers face air pollution and noise pollution. This is major cause of many health problems like skin allergies, asthma, and other respiratory problems. Moreover, commercial areas located inconveniently and not easily accessible diminishes the charm of city and life becomes miserable in the city.

Furthermore, some other factors that can’t be given nelson’s eye are transportation and sanitation. As unplanned narrow streets results congestion and without good sanitation and sewage system waste water gets logged causing many communicable diseases. Also, mosquitoes and other flies increase uncontrollable making city life uncomfortable. In addition, medical and educational facilities are essential services that every city that must be easily available to citizens. Thus, it needs proper planning to establish medical facilities and educational institutions at reasonable distance from people. Hospitals, case in point, not easily approachable proves fatal in emergencies.

In the light of these facts one can conclude that, pre-planning a city is of utmost importance for development of the city and making the city a comfortable place for the residents.