Many people think it is important to protect the environment, but they make no effort on it themselves. Why is it so and what can be done about it?

It is irrefutable that environmental damage is occurring at a very fast pace and people know that it is a global priority today to save the environment. However, when it comes to doing something, no one steps forward. In this essay I intend to delve into the causes of this phenomenon and suggest simple measures, which can be taken at the individual level.

To begin with, there are many reasons behind the indifferent attitude of people towards the environment. The main reason is that people don’t know that they themselves are the main cause of environmental damage. It is a simple truth that global warming is the result of billions of reasons. To illustrate, people are cutting down trees for their needs, using too many luxuries in the home, driving too many cars and are wasting resources like fresh water. If only awareness is brought about these things, then many people would take a step forward in this direction.

Moreover, people are also not doing anything because they think that it is a global problem and only government action can solve it. What has to be made clear is that small measures taken at the individual level will take mammoth dimensions when mounted up. For example, in a country like India with a population of more than one billion, if each person plants a tree and nurtures it for the first few months, the result would be unimaginable. People can take simple steps like recycling things such as newspapers, plastics and glass. People should also walk for short distances instead of using personal vehicles and for long distances public transport should be preferred.

Another reason why people do little about the environment is that people have become very busy in their pursuit of wealth and fame that they have no time to think about the environment. What they don’t realize that if nothing is done today, it might be too late tomorrow. The rate at which global warming is occurring would soon transform the Earth into a boiling pot and it would be uninhabitable one day.

Summing up, the onus of saving the environment is not just on the governments and big industries. Each and every individual must come forward and do his/her bit to save the environment before it is too late. It has rightly been said – “little drops of water, little grains of sand, make the mighty ocean and the vast land”