Nowadays some employers think that formal qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In today's society, some recruiters favour candidates who have formal educational qualifications over those with only personal past experience or good characteristics. This essay will outline some causes of this tendency, and I personally believe that there are both positive and negative effects.

There are a number of reasons why some employers think that academic degrees are more important than life experience or personal traits. Academic degrees are considered a tool to measure the level of knowledge that students are capable of. To be more specific, to achieve a good degree in most universities, students need to pass many examinations focusing on their knowledge and participate in practical training courses. These factors ensure that students be equipped with in-depth knowledge and useful skills in the field that the company is looking for. As a result, these people could make greater contributions to their company than those without any academic qualifications. In addition, in terms of people having life experience or personal qualities often lack knowledge in their field, and therefore, companies would waste resources and time to training these people.

In my opinion, this trend brings both positive and detrimental impacts. The positive effects would include the highly skilled employees who can complete excellently company's tasks. This ensures the quality of the business, which, as a result, can secure and build the company's reputation. Another benefit is saving time on training and resources. An employee with proper skills can start working immediately with a minimal amount of instruction. However, it is wrong to disregard one's life experience or personal characteristics. For example, negative personalities such as dishonesty in the workplace could pose a serious threat to the development of any companies.

In conclusion, employers prefer people with better qualifications rather than those who only have life experience or good qualities because qualifications are proof to prove that their holders are sufficiently trained at university. Nevertheless, I think that ignoring life experience or good personalities is a great shortcoming in recruitment.