Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is believed that time and money investment in wildlife conservation should be allocated to human beings instead. I strongly disapprove of this notion due to the importance of ecological balance and vital contribution of undomesticated creatures in economic growth.

The primary reason for my belief is that the biodiversity loss resulting from the extinction of endangered animals will become serious without any preservation actions. When wild creatures are on the brink of disappearance, they are likely to vanish and affect the hierarchy of prey and predator in the food chain. For example, if a creature disappeared, animals which are their predators would face a lack of food, eventually becoming threatened in the long run. As a result, the ripple effect will be detrimental to the survival of both species and mankind.

Another possible justification is that wild animals bring about a variety of economic benefits for a nation. Eco-tourism services depending on wildlife play a key role in attracting visitors and creating job opportunities for local residents. One prime example is that the Vietnamese government organise many field trips to the National reserve so tourists can immerse themselves into the wild and interact with certain species. Consequently, this not only helps to increase inhabitants’ income but also promotes economic growth.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that it is better to put in a great deal of money and time in wildlife conservation rather than on citizens. This is due to the major part of these species in ecosystem and economic advantages. It is recommended that the government should enact regulations to abandon endangered animals’ huntings or trading and allocate a national budget to preserve them.