Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that news coverage is currently focusing on challenging and severe issues rather than positive modification. While I accept that this tendency may be detrimental, I believe that this also exerts positive impacts on society.

On the one hand, a number of consequences are foreseen when front page headlines are made by negative news. Firstly, it may enormously affect individuals’ mental health. Indeed, a long exposure to bad stories carried by the media is reported to be the major contributing factor to a huge number of mental health problems, like insomnia, according to a recent study. Secondly, mainly depicting problems and emergencies, the editorial policy is more likely to provide citizens with a lack of opportunities to see the big picture. As a consequence, this may contributes to antisocial behaviors, or shaken believes on the order of the law and the government, which is considered to threat social fabrics.

On the other hand, I concur with the view that the above tendency is also beneficial. Specifically, since these negative headlines are reliable news rather than products of yellow journalism, people reading them are warned against real risks and dangers that they may face in their daily life. As a result, they are more likely to be wary of these threats, as well as equip themselves with essential measures to prevent them. Secondly, negative news also play an important role in exerting pressure on the government’s decision-making. For example, articles about severe environmental degradation are effective tools, urging the authority to prioritize its expenditure on alleviating ecological problems rather than other unreasonable issues.

Briefly, it seems to me that negative news coverage has a double-edged impacts on residents.