Nowadays, tourism has developed and contributed a significant portion of national income to its own country. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this development and give your own opinion.

These days, tourism is gradually becoming a bigger contributor to the GDP. From my perspective, tourism can bring about such benefits and drawbacks as belows.

On the one hand, there are some positive aspects that tourism brings to the nation themselves. First and foremost, tourism holds the potential to promote national income growth. That increased number of tourists visiting a popular destination can give rise to employment opportunities. In tourism-driven countries like England and Thailand, the proportion of the tourism sector is even greater as there are more international arrivals. Another point to make is that pouring resources into developing tourism is one of the most effective ways to preserve traditional and cultural values. Without these rituals, festivals and celebrations, values may be lost in the mist of time. To give a prime example, the Hung festival is an occasion for Vietnamese to pay tributes to the early country builders and their ancestors. Overall, thanks to the tourism industry, locals can improve their life and pay respect to their Kings and ancestors.

On the other hand, tourism can have some grave consequences on their countries themselves. The first is that tourism, if not properly controlled, can devastate the landscape. This stems from the lack of awareness of visitors, it spoils the natural beauty. A case in point is that Sam Son beaches located in Thanh Hoa, Vietnam have been covered in rubbish. Another downside is the risk of disease transmission when there are many visitors in a place. An example is the Covid-19 pandemic causing numerous deaths and property loss worldwide. Likewise, tourism partly decreases beauty and accelerates disease transmission.

As mentioned, tourism is a mixed blessing. To be specific, it brings about both advantages, namely economic growth and traditional preservation, and such drawbacks as destruction of nature and disease transmission. It is our joined duty to maximize its strengths and weaknesses.