In recent years, there have been two conflicting views on the impacts of state-of-the-art technology on social interactions. Some consider that technological advancements have a positive influence on human relationships while others contend that they have adverse effects. As far as I am concerned, I believe that the drawbacks of technological development far outweigh its benefits.

On the one hand, those who are more sanguine about the effects of technological development on human relationship believe that modern technology has shortened the distance among people and made the world smaller. For example, many people use social networks, such as Facebook and Twitter, to make new friends around the world who share common interests. With a lick of a button, they are able to interact through their computers or smart phones anytime and anywhere.

On the other hand, opponents think that technology would adversely affect human relationship. Utilizing technology in interaction fails to deliver essential personal touch. Sometimes we just need a hug, a handshake or a gentle pat on our back when we feel frustrated or upset. However, the cute, yet unreal, “stickers” and “emojis” on social media cannot offer us real comfort, and neither can they rejuvenate our spirit.

In my opinion, technological development adversely affects human interaction. There has been an upward trend in the number of the U.S. teenagers shutting themselves off from the outside world and indulging in a cyber world. The more they are obsessed with the advanced technology, the more they become detached from reality. Eventually, they might turn into a tech-savvy geek that has no inkling of how to interact and communicate with other people.

In conclusion, people have different views on how technology has altered the connectivity between people. Some think of it as a way to facilitate human interaction, yet others fear the development of technology will become a stumbling block to establishing a healthy human relation. In my view, the drawbacks outweigh much more than the benefits produced by technology. Hence, it is recommended that people should be extremely cautious about their reliance on technology.