Schools should ask students to evaluate their teachers Do you agree or disagree Use specific reasons and example to support your answer

In recent years, there has been considerable discussion about whether some teachers are irresponsible for their duties. This has led to a suggestion that learners should have the right to appraise the performance of their lecturers. Personally speaking, I would subscribe to this idea to a large extent for the following two reasons.

To begin with, students have an opportunity to give their opinions to their teachers if they have access to the evaluation system. For instance, a math teacher tends to speak very fast in class without being aware that some low academic achievers find it hard to follow his pace, and this sometimes hinders students’ academic progress at school. Despite this setback, students could voice their opinions through the evaluation sheet, asking the teacher to make a slight adjustment of the teaching methods and pay more attention to those who lag behind in class. By so doing, the teacher can know his weakness while students can take notes and learn better in the future. In other words, teacher evaluation not only plays a crucial part in students’ learning but also creates a win-win situation for both educators and learners.

In addition, the evaluation system will prevent teachers from being lazy. For example, a Chemistry teacher never dedicates himself to his teaching jobs, nor does he care about how much progress his students have made. However, students could complain to the school authorities about the teacher’s irresponsibility, and then the school could dismiss those teachers who do not take their work seriously. Because of the evaluation system, schools could know whether lecturers are devoted to their duties and remind teachers to show commitment to their students. All in all, evaluating teachers gives students a chance to give feedback on their teachers and effectively helps schools supervise their faculty.

In conclusion, I believe schools should allow students to evaluate their teachers because it encourages lecturers to improve their teaching methods and provides students with access to expressing their opinions on their learning environment.