Nowadays, the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationship that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

It is true that the communication methods between people have been changed because of technology advancement. It affects relationship in various ways, and in my opinion this trend will have both advantageous and disadvantageous development.

There is no doubt that technology has had an impact on relationship in business, social life and education. First of all, telephone and the Internet allow business people to have conference in different countries. Secondly, in the past people would make friends face to face, while now they can take advantage of social networks, such as Facebook and Twitter, to know new friends, who share common interests. This form of interacting just need computer or cellphone rather than face to face. In terms of education, technology innovation enables people to have a new form of relationship between students and teachers. Students, for instance, are able to take online video courses and contact with their teachers immediately and remotely.

On the one hand, technology progress can be positive development. Cooperation in different countries was very different in the past, as communication was limited to telegrams and written letters. By contrast, now emails and Skype have been used widely around the globe, which is as good as face to face meeting. On the other hand, this development will have negative effect. Young adults can be taken as an example, as most of them prefer to sit in front of computer to find friends rather than stick around with their peers in real world. This sedentary style will incur obesity and myopia based on the latest research. And also, such virtual relationship is poor substitute for a real one, as individuals cannot experience the real friendship via cyberspace.

To conclude, technology certainly reform the way that people communicate, however not all of them are positive development.