In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

At present, some individuals claim that high school graduates can be benefited from working or travelling for one year before attending college. Others, however, argue that it will bring about negative effects for them.

It is true that there are certainly some merits for those who have a break time scheme before going to university. To start with, they used to concentrate on their academic performances, so most of these young people lack real life experience. Now they are able to work for one year, where they can deepen their understanding of contemporary society. It is generally believed that such experience will be an essential factor for future career success. Another advantage is that if one took a year off for travelling, he would be more independent. As he would have varied duties to deal with, like booking ticket and cooking. So these life skills will improve their quality of live.

In spite of these statements given above, there are some voices against this break time plan due to its adverse effect. For instance, if one found a job prior to attending university, he would feel difficult to adjust himself to academic context, even he would never return to campus. Because one may think that it is better to have an employment instead of studying in university. However, I consider that it is less likely to happen, as an academic qualification plays an important part in seeking a decent job today.

To sum up, I would like to embrace the idea that our society should encourage high school graduates to enjoy working or travelling before starting university. Because this is the best way for them to get a clear career goal.