At the moment, population of some courtiers includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with number of older people. Do advantages overweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, some countries have more younger population compared with the number of senior citizens. From my perspective, I think the interests of this phenomenon surpass its drawbacks.

There is no doubt that a large number of young people can benefit one society. First of all, this kind of population structure can relieve public welfare pressure. Majority of the young have their own occupations, which means they do not have to live with public benefits. In contrast, plenty of elder people depend on social welfare, increasing financial burden for one society. If this were the case, then governments would impose more tax to refill the financial gap. In addition, they can cover the workforce shortage. Based on a report from Auckland of University, it is the younger employee that many enterprises today prefer to hire. Because many think that they are more effective and creative compared with elder ones. Without such people, work efficiency in one firm will be affected.

In spite of these statements given above, there are some demerits for one country if there are more younger adults. To start with, it may cause higher crime rates. It is believed by some that this kind of people today mimic the violence pictures from computer games and TV shows, which may induce them to commit an offence. As a result, the crime rate among the young will rise. Another concern is that the local rent will increase due to house undersupply. Since a lot of the young cannot afford the down payment, which means they have to find apartment to rent. In other words, rental market may suffer from undersupply. Therefore, the local rent is more likely to grow.

To conclude, although I cannot fail to admit that more young people in one country may bring about some problems, I would like to embrace the idea that a large amount of young population is an important strength for a nation.