In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

At present, there is an increasing number of people live alone around the globe. In my opinion, this phenomenon has both advantageous and disadvantageous development.

It is true that one-person family mode has plenty of merits for both individuals and growth of economy. From individual level, those who live alone will have better self-reliance ability than those who live with family members. As they have more opportunities to deal with a lot of house works, such as cooking, laundry and cleaning. Such life skills will be very useful for ones’ future development. In terms of economic progress, this living form will lead to a rise in demand for housing. As a result, a lot of industries related to construction, such as furniture market, maintenance service and real estate agents, will be benefited from this trend.

On the other hand, the individual and economic arguments given above will have some detrimental effects in one country. First of all, people who live alone will feel loneliness, worry and social isolation rather than experience positive feeling of independence. Because they are more likely to lack daily conversation and emotional support that family members or flat mates can provide. From financial viewpoint, this phenomenon will bring about property price and rent increase. Although it may benefit some businesses, like Airbnb and land development market, general population have to face the rising living cost. Finally, people have to relocate to cheaper towns, also the local population and economy will decline.

To conclude, I would like to embrace the idea that individuals who live alone will have both beneficial and detrimental effects on people and economy.