In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the number of one-person households is becoming a trend for adolescent, especially in big cities in developed and developing countries. In my opinion, I believe that living alone brings people manifold positive development, maturity for example. However, people might be affected badly by this issue such as loneliness.

To begin with, people who choose to live alone tend to be more independent and they are freedom in making decisions on the way they live. they will learn a bunch of useful life skills such as managing the budget, doing chores, etc which may help them to adapt quickly when circumstances change. Moreover, people can live without any worries about altercations from family or flatmates. Therefore, they can focus on making money to have a decent life or contribute to society.

On the contrary, lonely people are fifty percent more likely to die prematurely than those with healthy social relationships. Many surveys had been made and researchers have found that loneliness is just as lethal as smoking fifteen cigarettes per day. this is because being alone can reduce people’s immunity which will increase the risk of diseases such as heart problems or high blood pressure. In addition, lonely people lack emotional support and useful advice which can only be provided by family. without family, people might experience the feeling of being isolated which can easily lead to depression and autism.

In conclusion, everything has its own pros and cons, living alone is not exception. people should think of this issue deeply to make their choice wisely.