The number of overweight children in developed countries is increasing. Some people think this is due to problems such as the growing number of fast food outlets. Others believe that parents are to blame for not looking after their children's health. To what extent do you agree with these views?

According to medical experts, it is true that the rate of children in wealthy countries that are suffering from obesity, is rising rapidly. These days, children tend to gain weight faster than children in the past. From my everyday experience and observation, I attach that there are a bunch of reasons for this problem.

First of all, the rapid growth of shops selling unhealthy and fatty food such as fried chickens, chips, coke,etc has affected badly to people’s health. Take-away food seems to be the best seller in the human’s menu because of its own appetite and cheapness in many developed countries. A lot of adults have created a lazy habit that they never cook a meal for themselves. If there were fewer fast food outlets and the food cost more money just like in Viet Nam, people would not be tempted to spend money on trunk food.

Second of all, I totally agree that parents play an essential role in taking care of their children’s health. Many parents allow their children to become obese by taking away the good eating habit. Good eating habit is formed early in life when people were just babies. If children are given unhealthy food rather than nourishing food, or are always allowed to choose what they want to eat, they will go for the sweet and salty foods every time, and bad eating habit will carry on throughout their lives.

Last but not least, by the blooming of the technological era, children are spending their time on television, video games, etc instead of exercising. This has contributed to the problem and made it worse. Scientists say that without exercising, the human’s life span will be decreased. To solve this problem, children should be encouraged to outside and do some outdoor activities.

To sum up, parents should train their children to have a good eating habit at an early age and encourage them to be active. Besides, fast food outlets should be decrease and trunk food should cost more money.