It is generally accepted that families are not as close as they used to be. Give some reasons
why this change has happened. Include any relevant examples from your experience. You
should write at least 250 words.
These days, it is so clear that, in fact, family ties are becoming weaker and not as close as
before. This is evidently true in Western countries. To my knowledge, there are some reasons that
cause this unwanted problem. And, I firmly believe that we should change our mindsets, goals
and lifestyles.
It is true that a family that gets along well with each other tend to be closer and vice versa.
Great changes of the world have increased the gap between family members. For centuries,
social competition is increasing significantly. People have to spend lots of time working with
great efforts, in order to be successful, or to simply to have a decent life. And thus, they hardly
make time for their families. It seems that in people’s minds, devoting a huge amount of time to
work is more important than improving the bonds of kinship.
In the past, children learned everything mostly from their parents. Therefore, this allowed them
to spend more time with families. Now, parents are sending their 1, 2, and 3-year-old children to
daycare and pre-schools 4-10 hours a day 5-6 days a week. We also are living in the age of
individualism. Most everyone wants to be independent. People can do anything they want to
achieve their goals. For instance, many youths tend to leave their parents at an early age to
study and work in another city or country to find a better education, jobs or living standards. As
the result, children have less and less affection and love to their families.
Moreover, the terrific development of technological equipment is blurring the relationships of
families. Most of the young spend their leisure time engaging in screen-time activities such as
watching television, playing games, surfing the internet, etc. By the time, they lead a sedentary
lifestyle and lose their interest in chatting with their family members. So, family members
cannot understand each other, they will not know how to show their affection and they have less
caring for each other. Of course, family relationship will be weakened. A family is like a plant.
If we don’t take of the plant or give anything it needs, the plant will die.
In conclusion, we have to give our love and spend more time on our families to make sure that
families can be maintained forever. For members of families, who live far away from the other,
let’s contact their families as usual as possible.